Choosing a Theme

I think I would be most interested in writing about technology this semester since it is such a staple in everyone’s lives including my own. For the memoir assignment, I could write about my first experience with technology… my first cell phone, game system, or simply what it was like growing up in an extremely technology based world. Learning how to work a mouse and keyboard at the age of two for example.

For the ethnography assignment, I could examine some online communities such as YouTube and how their jobs are completely reliant on the existence of the internet and technology. I could study a store that focuses on technology such as Best Buy, Game Stop, etc. Or even the day in the life of a long distance couple and how technology is the thing that made the couple possible.

Argument topics could include how technology has effected how people socialize (or don’t socialize), the obesity rate and technology’s involvement in that, safety on the internet, cyberbullying, texting while driving, etc.

A photo essay could include the evolution of cellphones focusing on how size and simplicity of the products have changed over the years, comparing life through the eyes of a child now and 30+ years ago, the evolution of how a certain website looked such as facebook or google has changed over the years.

One thought on “Choosing a Theme

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *